Every evening before the beginning of the weekend, my best friend calls me and asks whether this weekend can we go somewhere? And each time I cancel off, not in a harsh way, but somehow manage.
To be honest, I don’t like putting him down each time, but for a certain reason I believe it is crucial.
And for that I want to apologize.
But there is a reason I chose to do it like this and not confessing it at his face, which you will get it as you read on.
So to begin…
I had known his friend of mine from past seven years and the way he’s right now, I say it with conviction, I never imagined to be.
The problem right now, which has been from a quite a few months is that he’s accustomed to a praxis, a fixed timely lethal routine. And the much bigger issue is: despite knowing that this shitty routine is his issue, he still takes no steps to rectify it.
Now he and I, we both know that I’m not the apt person to advice him or anybody for that matter, but I don’t like being the guy who could have helped and still didn’t. So, chucking it, I go on. And it’s not an advice. Advices suck. There are useless just like the advisors. I’m just writing this because:
a) I hate cancelling the travel plans.
And b) I can’t stand anymore of his mewlings.
Yeah, that’s not friends do, I know that. In his hard time, I’m supposed to be with him.
Precisely, that’s what I don’t intend to do.
Because right now we are at stage of our lives that the frequency and intensity of problems and issues just got exponential. There are parents that don’t understand us, girls kicking our butts, traffic, managers at high post tagging us unworthy and at last a job that we pretend to LOVE. And, he has got me too.
And these are just the beginning. As the time will pass and we will “Grow”, these issues will manifest info some morass and in that morass, we would be sliding down, unprotected and unlearned.
Anyways, the point is: he is into a job that he used to like when he was selected for it (cliché #1) and now the project he’s involved in isn’t his area of interest (cliche #2) and if he rejects the project then he’ll be on the bench and this is his probation period, it is risky, and then he won’t get his appraisals and bla bla bla….in real there is string of statements like this which I have heard numerous times. Getting his ass fucked during the first five days of the week (and in this we hardly communicate), he calls me for a catch-up on the either of the two days. And we meet. We sit at a kiosk in the evening and he talks. Sorry, he vents himself out. All the hardships that he encountered. How he dealt with his manager, or how he tried to pick the girl, how he’s building his relationship with the review team, or how doing this and doing that is hampering his RESUME. And I sit in front of him, sipping in tea, one glass after another and another and another…
I don’t say him anything out except one thing: If it’s hurting you, then leave the job.
To which he gives me a look that conveys I-earn-40000-a-month-and-I-just-can’t-give-it.
I don’t say him to leave his job, just because I’m jobless. But because he must.
Every time when I pick up his call, he cries: let’s go out this weekend…anywhere…I can’t stand this…I need to get out…
Yes, he does that. Every weekend.
And we don’t go.

**He’s worried about that if he will leave this job(he’s a fresher) then his resume won’t look good. And I don’t understand that why he is worrying about his resume more and his LIFE less?
**I don’t have a problem when he vents out his problems. But what I detest is: he just does it again and again and never focuses on finding a solution to it.
**I cancel off each time is because it won’t change anything. Only the kiosk on the highway will get replaced by a tea stall in the mountains, but his problems won’t. He still will repeat the same stuff. Again.
**I feel no shame to admit that despite being a graduate, I’m still jobless, but at least I’m not whining over anything. And I don’t say this to shove anyone down, especially him, but this is the path I choose. And that’s what I want to tell him: that doesn’t matter what you decide to do, there will be hardships.
Since, I don’t have a job and sit at home when at the meantime all the known people are working including my parents and I sit at home, read books and every time I get bizarre looks and scoldings and advices of what I should do. But I don’t call anyone and spat out.

After reading this, I’m sure that he might not talk to me, but it doesn’t matter. We hardly talk. It’s better to be at par than regretting over the past memories and hoping for them to come back, without making a change.

Dear friend,
All I want to say is STOP DOING IT. TO YOURSELF. IT WON’T BENEFIT ANYONE. QUIT IT AND START NEW. DON’T WAIT FOR GETTING ANOTHER JOB FIRST AND QUITTING THIS ONE AFTER. THINGS WON’T CHANGE LIKE THIS. YOU GOT TO RISK IT. WHEN YOU WILL RISK IT, YOU WILL GET IT.
I KNOW YOU KNOW ALL THIS. I HAVE SPAT THIS BEFORE. BUT NOT ANYMORE, BRO. NOT ANYMORE.
IT’S TIME TO KEEP YOURSELF IN THE FIRST PLACE.
REST YOU KNOW WHAT TO DO.

Yours friend.

